What feeds the starving artist.

 

I don’t know where my head’s been. It’s been close to a month since my last post! I must be sleeping over here. A thousand apologies, I’m back and am going to be a bit more regular (attention bowels) with my blog posts.

Anyway, where to begin. Well, after the Troc show, we were offered a gig opening for legendary guitarist Johnny A at World Cafe Live in Philadelphia, and man, we rocked the place! It was a packed house and we definitely won the crowd over. What was even better was that a lot of my friends and family made it out for the show and that meant a lot. It’s always important to remember the people that support you. My two best friends, Brad and Scott, have had my back and supported me since day one with all of this. And there they were that night, taking pictures and video, and cheering me on. I can’t tell you how much that means to me.

All the attention in the world from random people in the crowd after the show, people shaking your hand and complimenting your playing, people requesting information about your music – none of it has quite the same feeling as a hug from your best friends, and hearing them say “Awesome show, man. You rocked.” None of it can beat seeing your mom and dad with beaming smiles on their faces when you make your way to them after the set is over. You want to know what feeds the starving artist? Friends and family. It’s what keeps our belly’s full when we’re running on empty. When that all-consuming fear of doubt and failure rumbles in our gut, and when the pangs of hunger nearly force us to our knees, we have good friends and good families that kneel down and put the bread on our plate and the water in our glass. “This will keep you going, because you can’t quit now.” They often don’t know that they are a major part of our staying power. But it’s time they did.

When you can celebrate your successes with the people that truly matter most to you, and have mattered for as long as you can remember, well then hell, you’re doing something right.

But wait, there’s more!

Speaking of my best friends, one is getting ready to hit the studio this summer to record his debut EP. Scotty D has his old six-strang in one hand, and some blue-collar themed working man tunes in the other, straight from the songbooks of Springsteen and Dylan themselves. The as-yet-untitled EP will contain 4-5 of his original tunes featuring the man himself on guitar and vocals, and yours truly on drums. So to get you all a little better acquainted with Scott, I’ll send your asses over to his blog.

Ok, kiddies, that’s it for now. If any of the six of you who read this blog are from the Maryland area, then keep your eyes peeled……..there might be a Zach Caruso show coming to a venue near you very soon…….

 

~ by zachcarusomusic on April 9, 2010.

Leave a comment